Evaluations

Periodic Evaluations for Probationary & Tenured Faculty 

Periodic evaluation is required for probationary faculty in years 2, 4, and 5 by their department or school in the Fall. Probationary faculty in year 1 may waive a formal evaluation in lieu of a mentoring meeting with department chair or school directorexcept in the rare instance when a first-year faculty member seeks tenure.

Periodic evaluation is required for tenured faculty by their department or school in the Spring (including chairs, directors, librarians, counselors, and SSPARs) who are not in the Faculty Early Retirement Program (FERP) and have not undergone within the last five (5) years periodic evaluation or performance review in connection with tenure and/or promotion.  

  • Review shall be conducted by a committee of tenured faculty members and by the dean or their designee.
  • If teaching is a part of the work assignment of the faculty member under review, teaching evaluations shall be considered.
  • Complete information about procedures (including required evaluation materials), criteria, and timelines shall be provided to the faculty due for evaluation within 14 days of the beginning of the academic term in which they are to be evaluated.
  • A copy of the evaluation shall be provided to the faculty member and delivered to the official PAF in the Office of Faculty Advancement.

Please review the following sections for specific information regarding Periodic Evaluations for Probationary Faculty in Years 1, 2, 4, and 5. The forms and documents listed below are available to assist faculty, committee members, staff, and administrators with the performance review process.


Performance Reviews for Probationary Faculty in Year 3 and 6, and Faculty Seeking Tenure and/or Promotion (RTP)

Performance review is required for faculty requesting reappointment in years 3 and 6 or tenure and/or promotion in any year.  This evaluation is a multi-level review which consists of the department/school peer review committee, department chair/school director, college peer review committee, dean, University Promotions Tenure Review Panel (UPTRP), and the Provost.

Please review the following sections for specific information regarding Performance Reviews for Probationary Faculty in Year 3 and 6, and Faculty Seeking Tenure and/or Promotion (RTP). The forms and documents listed below are available to assist faculty, committee members, staff, and administrators with the performance review process.

 For further assistance, contact your College RTP Representative:

College RTP Representative Contact Information
Arts and Letters Brenda Wills
619-594-7227

bwills@mail.sdsu.edu

Business Administration Kelly Bowen
619-594-4457

kbowen@mail.sdsu.edu

Education Maribel Flores
619-594-1425

mflores@mail.sdsu.edu

Engineering Amy Jensen
619-594-1848

ajensen@mail.sdsu.edu
 
Health and Human Services Claire Norberg
619-594-6151

cnorberg@mail.sdsu.edu

Imperial Valley Campus Samuel Palma
760-768-5520

spalma@mail.sdsu.edu

Library and Information Access Ashley Vorraro
619-594-0668

avorraro@mail.sdsu.edu

Professional Studies and Fine Arts Annie Rose Foral
619-594-6815

aforal@mail.sdsu.edu

Sciences Bettyann Bernhardt
619-594-6521

bbernhardt@mail.sdsu.edu

Division of Student Affairs Rashmi Praba
619-594-0804

rpraba@mail.sdsu.edu