Initiative for Inclusive Leadership

Launched in 2019, San Diego State University’s faculty leadership development initiative is pleased to announce that its 2022 program will be open to faculty colleagues both at SDSU and at participating campuses (CSU Monterey Bay, CSU Humboldt State University, CSU Dominguez Hills, San Francisco State University, and CSU East Bay) across the CSU system.  

The Building With Inclusive Leadership workshop will take place May 23 - 24, 2022, at the Parma Payne Alumni Center on the San Diego State University Campus.

As articulated by our SDSU faculty leadership institute alumni, our goal is to “build on the leadership potential that already exists within the CSU” and “create a pipeline of diverse administrative leaders who are capable of advocating for the core mission of the California State University.”
We invite nominations (including self-nominations) of faculty who have a demonstrated commitment in their research, teaching, and / or professional service to historically underrepresented students and / or  communities.  

The fee for the program is $195, plus travel (if applicable).  Participating CSU campuses may cover program fees and travel for their faculty participants. Participant selection will be coordinated with Associate Vice Presidents for Faculty Affairs on participating campuses to engage campus support.

Nomination forms will be available 1/19/22.  To receive updated information, please click here.

Funded by the SDSU President’s Budget Advisory Committee, the initiative supports the two-day faculty Shared Governance Leadership Institute (held annually in January), support for institute alum to attend regional and national leadership development events, and the Faculty Futures Lab podcast.

To receive periodic updates about opportunities, events, and podcast episodes, please complete the form below:

Shared Governance Leadership Institute Alumni

2019 - 2020

Mounah Abdel-Samad
Michael Borgstrom
Yea-Wen Chen
Estella Chizhik
Angela Coker
Sarah Elkind
Hisham Foad
Temesgen Garoma
Michael Gates
Steve Gill
Roberto D. Hernandez
D.J. Hopkins
Susan Kiene
Vanja Lazarevic
Nerissa Lindsey
Tracy Love
Karen May-Newman
Eyal Oren
Yusuf Ozturk
Matthew Savage
Allison Vaughn
Public Affairs
English and Comparative Literature
Teacher Education
Women's Studies
Civil, Construction and Environmental Engineering
Chicana and Chicano Studies
Theatre, Television, and Film
Public Health
Child and Family Development
Speech, Language and Hearing Sciences
Mechanical Engineering
Public Health
Electrical Engineering


2018 - 2019

Ashkan Ashrafi
Suzanne Bordelon
Fernando Bosco
Yea-Wen Chen
Anna Culbertson
Sarah Garrity
Lisa Gates
Sara Gombatto
Tonika Duren Green
Marshal Hedin
Jennifer Imazeki
Rebecca Lewison
Hala Madanat
Matthew Mahar
Lourdes Martinez
Angel David Nieves
Mitchell J. Rauh
Mark Reed
Elisa (EJ) Sobo
Chamu Sundaramurthy
Emilio Ulloa
George Youssef
Eric Walsh-Buhi
Maria Luisa Zuniga
Electrical and Computer Engineering
Rhetoric and Writing Studies
Special Collections and University Archives
Child and Family Development
Administration, Rehabilitation, and Postsecondary Education
Exercise and Nutritional Sciences
Counseling and School Psychology
Public Health
Exercise and Nutritional Sciences
Exercise and Nutritional Sciences
Social Work
Mechanical Engineering
Public Health
Social Work